Remembering the “big wait”

Posted: August 5, 2010 in Life in General

And so for the first time during the summer holidays in Scotland thousands of teenagers woke up early this morning waiting with bated breath for Postman Pat to deliver that big brown envelope containing their exam results.

However many thousands more reverted to the norm and stayed sleeping, ignoring Pat stuffing their envelope through the letterbox due to the fact they had already received their results.

The reasons behind those “Rip Van Winkles” being able to stay in their slumbers was because they got their results by text at 3 o’clock yesterday afternoon, thus putting them out their misery some 18 hours before some of their friends.

However, did it take away any of the angst experienced by those who had opted for the conventional ‘through the door’ method?  Well, probably not.  Because instead of checking the window intermittently during the GMTV (or TVam in my case) ad breaks to see if the postie was in the street, the text team simply replaced this by constantly picking up their phone to see if they had missed that all-important text message…as if! This, along with holding their hands up in mid-air just to check they had enough ‘bars’ to be able to receive their messages and sending ad-hoc texts to their mates to see “Hv u gt urs yet?”

Ultimately the wait  for the text message results would have been just as intense the wait for the big brown envelope.

So, this got me thinking – in my day (yes, way back then) would I have registered to get my exam results sent directly to my phone by text message if I had been lucky enough to own a mobile phone?

Well, the advantages would be that I would know my results nearly a day before some of my friends.  I would have an extra day to prepare myself for the results if they were bad or would have had the same extra day ‘drinking’ time to celebrate if they were good.  I would have had some extra time to come up with excuses to give to the folks if things hadn’t gone quite according to plan or I as a bit of a techy geek, I would have had the chance to see if this new-fangled technology thing really did work.

So ultimately my answer to getting my results by text would have been YES.  But not for the reasons outline above or even to have been seen to be uber-diligent and keen to find out just how I had got on the tests that would affect me for the rest of my life.  The real reason is quite simple…

As a 17 year old teenager, if ever there was a way to allow me to keep sleeping until 2 o’clock in the afternoon and mean I didn’t have to get out of bed at some un-godly hour like 8am – then I would have grabbed it with both hands.

At that time in my life, my sleep was way more important that any text message or big brown envelope containing my destiny!

Leave a Reply

